Police Department

General Fund

Fiscal Year 2023

Picture of police chief

The Police Department is a full-service department with high priorities in transparency, training, community service, and apprehension of criminals who plague our city. The police department has 44 sworn officers responsible for approximately seven square miles of city jurisdiction and added waterway jurisdiction. The department has two major Divisions, the Operations Division, which consists of the road patrol personnel, parking personnel, and the training unit. The Support Division consists of the Detective Bureau, Community Relations, the Records Division, and the Communications Center. Additionally, the department has 15 civilian personnel who aid in the department's operation.

The Police Department believes that one of its highest priorities is to do everything possible to maintain a high quality of life for those who live here and visit. We recognize that we must engage the community in our efforts to be successful. We actively form partnerships with everyone who has an interest in making Stuart a great place to live.

We are proud of our community and the efforts that our officers and employees make every hour of every day to make our city a safe place to live and play.

Picture of police mission