001-190 Police

General Fund

Department Information and Background

The Stuart Police Department prioritizes transparency, training, community service, and apprehension of criminals who impact our city. The police department has 50 sworn officers responsible for approximately seven square miles of city jurisdiction, including waterway areas.

The Stuart Police Department operates with two Divisions:

The Operations Division

  • Road patrol officers
  • Parking enforcement
  • Part-time and reserve officers

The Support Division

  • Detective Bureau
  • Community Relations
  • Records Division
  • Communications Center
  • School Resource Officers

A Captain with two Lieutenants and Coordinators oversees each Division within the police department. Additionally, we have a dedicated team of 15 civilian personnel who play a vital role in supporting our day-to-day operations.

We actively partner with all stakeholders interested in making Stuart a great place to live and visit. We take immense pride in our community and the Selfless, Proud, and Dedicated efforts that our officers and employees make daily to ensure that our city remains safe and enjoyable for all.

Department Performance Measures

Department Appropriations

Department Staffing