Our Community


Founded in 1900, Steamboat Springs is a thriving, authentic city with its roots deeply planted in the American West. At 6,700’ in the Rocky Mountains, this northwest Colorado community is home to year-round recreation, a historic downtown, vibrant businesses, active arts and culture, unique events, celebrated mineral springs, outstanding educational opportunities, and an 80-year Olympian tradition. All with the free-flowing Yampa River running right through the heart of it all.

Steamboat Springs, as a community, acknowledges that this land is part of the homelands of the Indigenous Ute Tribes. Steamboat further acknowledges the continual fortitude of indigenous culture of Native Americans today. We will work to uplift Native Americans and strive for equality in our communities and beyond.

The City of Steamboat Springs welcomes you with warm hearts, generations of history and heritage, along with a genuine tradition that honors the past while focusing on its future.

Business and Economy

Routt County has a strong agricultural heritage with area farmers and ranchers producing traditional crops of hay, wheat, alfalfa, cattle, and sheep. Many locally produced products from local farms are sold in the local farmers market and at the Community Ag Alliance store. Our economy is driven by our locals, tourism and hospitality, utility companies, location-neutral businesses and employees, government and school district employees, outdoor recreation, construction, and health care to name a few of the diverse industries that are a part of our community.

Tax Structure

Steamboat Springs’ sales tax rate of 4% is levied on tangible personal property and taxable services that are purchased, sold, leased, or rented within the City of Steamboat Springs including groceries and short-term accommodation revenue. An additional 0.5% sales tax is collected for educational purposes in Routt County and is earmarked for technology, capital projects and educational excellence. In 2018, the voters passed Referendum 2B extending this tax to December 31, 2029. An additional 1% accommodation tax is levied on all short-term lodging of 30 days or less and the revenues are dedicated to tourism based amenities. The City of Steamboat Springs is a home rule municipality with its own Municipal Code, collecting its own sales tax. Additional Sales taxes are collected by the State of Colorado at the rate of 2.9% for the State, 1% for Routt County, and 2% accommodations tax for the short-term accommodations that are located within the Local Marketing District boundaries.

The City of Steamboat Springs voters passed ballot initiative in November 2019 which levies a property tax for the first time in four decades. The 2-mill property tax is to fund fire and emergency services and is estimated to generate $1.5 million in annual revenue. Routt County, the school districts, and various special districts levy property taxes. Ad valorem property taxes are assessed on both real and business personal property. Property values are reevaluated every odd year and are applied to the following two years.

The City of Steamboat Springs voters passed referendum in November 2022 which asked if the City should impose a tax of up to 9% on short-term rentals to support affordable and attainable housing projects. Council passed an ordinance in December 2022 creating a new section in the tax code which imposes the tax at 9% and establishes the details for its collection: transactions/properties subject to the tax, tax rate, effective date and exemptions, and other terms. Collection of the tax started in January 2023.

Local Government

Steamboat Springs is governed by an elected seven-member City Council which appoints a City Manager. Volunteer boards for the city include the Planning Commission, Board of Adjustment, Historic Preservation Commission, Parks and Recreation Commission, and many others. The City's income is primarily derived from sales tax, construction use tax, accommodations taxes, and charges for services.

Steamboat Springs is the county seat of Routt County. As of the 2020 census, the population of Routt County is 24,829. An elected three-member board of commissioners with staggered four-year terms governs the county. County income is derived from property taxes, use taxes, sales taxes, and various state and federal revenue sources.